Requiem Project Choir



Chamber Orchestra of Perugia

Conductor Susumu Ueda – Yasunori Saiki

Organ Yu Sasaki

S. Ueda – Ave Maria

Y. Saiki – Tu es Petrus

S. Ueda – Missa Brevis “Precatio pro pace”

  • Kyrie
  • Gloria
  • Credo
  • Sanctus et Benedictus
  • Agnus Dei

S. Ueda – Stabat Mater

  • Stabat Mater dolorosa
  • Cujus animam gementem
  • Benignitatem matris recordaris?
  • O quam tristis et afflicta
  • Pro peccatis suæ gentis
  • Cum vitam sentio
  • Eja Mater fons amoris
  • Lacrimæ inundantes
  • Quando corpus morietur
  • Precor ut homines beati sint

The Requiem Project starts in 2008 in the Kobe area, after the Great Hanshin-Awaji Earthquake, and it evolves around the themes of “mourning and hope” and “love for life”. The Project, through its choral activities and events unites different people, different survivors and different parts of Japan.

At present their activities, starting from Kobe, reached places that have been affected by war or natural disasters such as Tokyo, Sayo-cho in the Hyogo prefecture, Hiroshima, Nagasaki, Okinawa, the area recently hit by the Great East Japan Earthquake Sendai, Iwate, and currently Kesennuma and Minamisoma, other than holding concerts in Hokkaido and Prague, in the Czech Republic. On October 11th 2015, the Requiem Project held its firs official concert at St Stephen’s Cathedral in Wien, gathering more than 150 members from many disaster areas, supported by the cooperation between a local professional orchestra and the volunteer members of the Sendai Philarmonic. The concert ended with a more than 10 minutes long standing ovation that filled the church with its sound, an unusual response for a Requiem. This year the Requiem Project reached Italy, and other than singing for the Holy Mass in St Peter’s Basilica, they will perform in the Basilica of San Francesco D’Assisi, who suffered major damage during the earthquake that hit Umbria in September 1997, and in the Church of Santa Trinita in Florence, to pray for reconstruction after disaster and world peace.

Chamber Orchestra of Perugia –

Susumu Ueda – Born in Osaka (Japan), Graduated in Composition Department in Faculty of Music in Kyoto City University of Arts, has been Awarded the Kyoto Association of Music Award. 1980 Selected as trainee under the domestic study program for upcoming artists of the Agency for Cultural Affairs and studied in Tokyo. 1982 Started professional composing full time. Published numerous musical compositions upon request of classical musicians. Also held two recitals based on his works.

1998 Composed the official music for Nagano Winter Olympic Games, “Winter Flame”. From 2005 to the present, has hosted yearly “Memorial Concerts” in Kobe City dedicated to the victims of the Great Hanshin Earthquake. In 2008 launched a project called “Requiem Project” in memory of the victims of disasters and to pray for peace and hope, which is currently active. Since 2011, he started hosting numerous musical activities in the area that has been hit by the Great Eastern Japan Earthquake. The activity is now spreading to wide areas such as Kobe, Tokyo, Sayo-cho in Hyogo, Okinawa, Hiroshima, Nagasaki, Fukushima, Minami-Soma in Fukushima and Sendai.

Yu Sasaki – Born in Sendai in 1983, graduated at Elisabeth University of Music and got a PhD in music. Studied at the Stuttgart College of Music as exchange student. Quarter-finalist at the Albans International Organ Competition, other than performing in many parts of Japan, he is also doing research activities.

Currently he is full-time lecturer at Elisabeth University of Music, and part -time lecturer at the Hiroshima Prefectural University.


In partnership with

© 2015-2021 Assisi Pax Mundi | CREDITS